6th Ferguson Adventure Trophy

FERGUSON HIGH SCHOOL – RATNAPURA” illuminates the whole nation with its fame for 100 years. Inaugurated in 1917 by Baptist Missionaries Rev. J.B Radley and his wife the school was then known as Baptist Missionary English School. Miss Elizebeth Maldeniya who was the first teacher of this school took the initiative in her career of teaching with three students with the vestry of the Baptist church. As the number on roll was increasing the school was then moved from the valley to the hill in 1919. In 1922 , Miss Allsop became the first principal and it was her faith and vision and boundless energy that developed the school in many ways. The school was named Ferguson high school in 1928, in memory of Mr. John Ferguson who had played a prominent part in the life of the Baptist Church. Being so proud and honoured to have the world’s first women Prime Minister Mrs. Sirimavo Bandaranayaka as the distinguished past pupil of the school Mother Ferguson has taken giant strides within the period of 100 years, to carve her name in the world history in golden letters as a “Leading Girls’ School in Sri Lanka”.

At present the school shelters over 4300 Fergusonites enjoying educational facilities guided by Mrs. Mercy Galagama as the principal and the staff of about 200 devoted teachers providing knowledge and assisting the students in the development of aptitudes and attitudes that assist in the process of moulding the students and make them exemplary, useful citizens of Young Ladies to the nation.

1st Rathnapura Guide company

In 1925 , the 1st Rathnapura Guide company was begun. in 1928 , His Excellency Sir Herbert Stanely visited visited the Guide Company in the school.

Ferguson Adventure Trophy – 2018

closing ceremony was successfully held at the school auditorium on 3rd of February 2018

  • CHAMPIONS : Matara Rahula College Scout Troop



                             Photo  Photo:       

pix from: Subhashini Desinghage‎ / 4pules